In Arizona, a misdemeanor is a crime that is punishable with up to six months a county or local jail. The big difference between a felony and a misdemeanor is amount of time you might spend in prison and where. Some people are under the impression that a misdemeanor doesn’t affect your record as much as a felony conviction will, but in reality, a misdemeanor can follow you after your prison sentence has been served and have dire consequences.
Class 1 Misdemeanors
In Arizona, misdemeanors are classified by numbers. Class 1 is the most serious and carries a fine of up to $2500 and surcharges, and a six month sentence. Common Class 1 misdemeanors are DUI, assault, prostitution, and theft.
Class 2 Misdemeanors
The punishment for a Class 2 misdemeanor is up to $750 fine plus surcharges, up to four months in jail, and up to two years on probation. Common crimes in this class include assault, reckless driving, and criminal trespassing.
Class 3 Misdemeanors
Although Class 3 misdemeanors are the least serious offenses, you may still face up to 30 days in jail, a $500 fine plus your court fees. Examples include criminal trespass or criminal speeding. Buying alcohol for a person under the age of 21 is another example.
Trust your future with a good attorney who can help you understand your charges and what your options are.
Visit this website for a criminal defense attorney in Temple if you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor to keep your record clean.